Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

About the Library: Reference

Learn more about the Langston Hughes Memorial Library.

Reference

The Reference Department provides research assistance to Lincoln University faculty, staff, and students and to our neighbors in the local community. The reference service area is located on the main level of the Langston Hughes Memorial Library. In addition to assisting people who visit the library, reference librarians also provide research assistance via email, phone, class, workshop and/or by appointment.

The ready reference collection consists of resources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, maps, and directories. A growing collection of online reference material can be accessed via the library's webpage.

Library instruction is available to teach students and faculty about the library's resources, information literacy, and indepth research strategies for all academic departments. Librarians provide one on one as well as small and large group instruction.

 

Langston Hughes Memorial Library

Faculty Librarian Liaisons

 

 

Academic Department

Librarian

Biology

Sophia Sotilleo

Business

Sophia Sotilleo

Chemistry & Physics

Sophia Sotilleo

Computer Science

Simone Clunie

Foreign Language

Sophia Sotilleo

Health Science

Sophia Sotilleo

History, Political Science, & Philosophy

Jessica Garner

Human Services

Jessica Garner

Languages & Literature

Jessica Garner

Mass Communications

Ugochi Nwachuku

Mathematical Sciences

Sophia Sotilleo

Nursing

Sophia Sotilleo

Psychology

Sophia Sotilleo

Sociology & Criminal Justice

Ugochi Nwachuku

Visual & Performing Arts

Simone Clunie

School of Adult and Continuing Education

Ugochi Nwachuku

The databases listed on the A-Z Database page can be accessed on any browser when not on Lincoln University's Wi-Fi.

The Research Assistance Program (RAP) is a library program that provides students with one-on-one assistance with their term papers and other research here at the Langston Hughes Memorial Library. With the tremendous growth in both computerized and traditional paper resources housed in the library, it is imperative that students have a thorough understanding of these basic search tools. RAP is designed to provide this extra assistance.

Through RAP, students will be provided with:

  • Techniques for effective search strategies when employing an electronic resource.
  • Individual assistance in formulating a more focused research topic.
  • Help to identify the proper subject headings, terms, descriptors and controlled vocabulary germane to the student’s research.
  • Suggestions of print library sources that might be more appropriate given the nature of the research topic.
  • The critical thinking skills necessary to distinguish between documents located through a general Internet search via Google or Yahoo, and materials found on one of our proprietary full-text reference databases.

Students can schedule an appointment any time during the semester. To set-up a RAP consultation, contact the Library Director.

FAQs