Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

National Library Week: Langston Hughes Memorial Library

Vail Memorial Library

 

Reproduced from https://hbcudigitallibrary.auctr.edu/digital/collection/lupa/id/348/

“In 1867, the first catalogue of the Lincoln University library was prepared, a year after the new incorporation” (Bond, 1976, p. 409). Through continued gifts and donations, the collections grew and Vail Memorial Library, constructed 1898, served as the first physical library building.

 

About the Library

Visit the library's website.

For assistance with library resources, please try the Ask a Librarian service below.

Special Collections

The Langston Hughes Memorial Library houses materials relating to the Black Experience and to Lincoln University, as well as Rare Books and Gift Collections. 

https://www.lincoln.edu/library/special-collections-and-archives

Collections Highlights

  • Africana (AFR) –  Books by or about Africans or relating to Africa.
  • Black Periodicals – Serial publications relating to Africa or the African Diaspora
  • Gift Collections – Books, manuscripts and artifacts donated to Lincoln University
  • Lincoln University Archives – Institutional records of Lincoln University
  • Lincolniana (LINC) – Books published by the institution, or by or about alumni or faculty
  • Lincoln University Masters Theses  –  by Lincoln University graduate students
  • Rare Books  –  Limited and supervised access
  • Special Negro Collection (SNC) – Books by or about the descendants of Africans living in the African Diaspora

ONLINE RESOURCES

The Black Panther Newspaper Publications-1974

Kwame Nkrumah Digital Information Site

The Lincoln Lion Magazine Archive

LHML

The Langston Hughes Memorial Library is named for one of Lincoln University’s most famous graduates, the celebrated poet Langston Hughes. 

Photograph by Edward Henry Weston, 1932

Image reproduced from https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/why-langston-hughes-still-reigns-poet-unchampioned-180963405/

This new shelving on the second floor houses books from Langston Hughes' personal library collection, which was donated to Lincoln University in 1967. 

 

Read the transcript of an interview with Hughes through the library's ProQuest subscription to Alexander Street: Black Thought & CultureInterview featured in the publication: Artist and Influence.

Langston Hughes: Playwright

Interviewers: Reuben and Dorothy Silver

Karamu Theatre, Cleveland, Ohio

May 6-7, 1961.

Langston Hughes

Featured Site: Power Library

"POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library."

     

Most of the site is open for browsing, but, to use the online e-resources, you must have a library card issued by a library in Pennsylvania or you can obtain an eCard that will allow you to access the POWER Library e-resources.

Books by Lincoln Graduates