LibGuides: Visual Arts: Images

Resources for Images

Online article from the Texas A&M Writing Center that discusses things to consider when writing about images.

"Visual images, including cartoons, book covers, ads, charts, graphs, photographs, and business logos, aren’t just pretty to look at. They communicate, just as words do. Sometimes they communicate with words, and other times they replace words entirely. You can analyze and evaluate how visual images..." https://writingcenter.tamu.edu/Students/Writing-Speaking-Guides/Alphabetical-List-of-Guides/Academic-Writing/Analysis/Analyzing-Visual-Images

accessCeramics
This site hosts a growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide.
Ad*Access
The Ad*Access Project presents images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. It concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
Architecture & Sculpture
Digital imaging project created by Mary Ann Sullivan and hosted at Bluffton University.
more...less...
Mary Ann Sullivan explains the philosophy behind the site: https://homepages.bluffton.edu/~sullivanm/repeats/mycomments.html
Art Crimes - Grafitti Art Page
Art Crimes, is a gallery of graffiti art from the US, Europe, and cities around the world. This project was started with a handful of photos from Atlanta and Prague by Susan Farrell in May 1994, and the site went public that September. Susan teamed up with photographer Brett Webb in September 1994, who also worked in support of the site in various ways until 2005.
more...less...
Read more about the project: https://www.graffiti.org/index/story.html
Art Images for College Teaching
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) began as a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community. The University of Michigan Library provides access to this collection for educational and research purposes.
ART UK
Art UK is the online home for every public art collection in the UK. The organization is a charity, and the website represents a collaboration between over 3,200 British institutions.
more...less...
Dancing Women, Dancing Stones
Monica Sjöö (1938–2005)
New Hall Art Collection, Murray Edwards College, University of Cambridge
Brooklyn Museum of Art
The museum's online collection has a wealth of information about many of the objects in their holdings.
Classical Art Research Center
The Classical Art Research Centre leads and supports research on ancient art. It's heart, the Beazley Archive's online databases and other web resources are freely available through this site.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to various material held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
Google Art & Culture
Google Arts & Culture (formerly Google Art Project) is an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative's partner museums.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digital collections of the Library of Congress.
more...less...
Church of Saint Nicholas Mokryi (1665-72), southeast view, Yaroslavl, Russia
Brumfield, William Craft, 1944-, photographer
Reproduced from https://www.loc.gov/item/2018681929/
LIFE Photo Archive hosted by Google
Photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
NYPL Digital Collections
"This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more".
PhillyHistory
A collaboration between the Philadelphia City Archive, the Athenaeum of Philadelphia, Philadelphia Water Department, Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, National Endowment for the Humanities and Institute of Museum and Library Services, & the National Endowment for the Humanities. The site features historical photos and maps.
Smithsonian Collections Search Center
The Smithsonian Collections Search Center is an online catalog containing most of the Smithsonian's major collections from their museums, archives, libraries, and research units.
VADS: the Online Resource for the Visual Arts
VADS (the Visual Arts Data Service) is a service of the Library & Student Services department of the University for the Creative Arts. It has provided services to the academic community for 20 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 140,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
more...less...
Collection: Crafts Study Centre
Potter: Marianne de Trey
Date: 2003
Description: Pink, green and white agateware, narrow-necked bottle, flared mouth, porcelain
Image reproduced from https://www.vads.ac.uk/large.php?uid=22178&sos=3
Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library: Online Collection
An American estate and museum in Winterthur, Delaware that houses collections of Americana.