Skip to main content
site header image

Basic Information Literacy: Databases

Signing in to the Databases

What is a database?

Databases contain articles, e-books, abstracts, videos, citations, images, and more.  A database can contain almost any kind of media. So why is it different than searching the internet?  A database has been put together by people curating the information: organizing it, putting it in various subjects, and generally making it easier for researchers to find the information they need.

Article Databases in 5 Minutes

Posted with permission from North Carolina State University Libraries.

Remember when searching...

Remember not all journals can be found in any one database, so you may have to go through the same search in each of these databases to find the right article. This is very similar to searching for a rare book or CD to buy online; you may have to search the websites of Amazon, Borders, and Barnes and Noble to find what you are looking for.

Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are multidisciplinary, so they contain articles that focus on many different areas of study.

Reference Information - Tertiary Information to Start Your Search

Reference collections in libraries are often composed of materials that give general encyclopedic information on subjects, as well as test-prep books and citation guides.  These materials are often considered tertiary and give a "reference" point to start your research, studying, or paper.

The physical collection is on the main floor of the library, however we also have digital reference materials primarily located in:

Use the following database instead of Wikipedia! Need to find general information on your field of study or a famous person? This should be your first stop.