LibGuides: Resources for Music and Dance: Music Majors

Music History & Musicology

Rhythms of Race by Christina D. Abreu
Call Number: ML480 .A27 2015
ISBN: 9781469620848
Publication Date: 2015-05-04
Cultural Codes by William C. Banfield; Bill Banfield
Call Number: ML3479 .B364 2010
ISBN: 9780810872868
Publication Date: 2009-12-10
Crossroads by John Milward
Call Number: ML3521 .M56 2013
ISBN: 9781555537449
Publication Date: 2013-06-11

Professional Organizations

Americans for the Arts
Our mission is to build recognition and support for the extraordinary and dynamic value of the arts and to lead, serve, and advance the diverse networks of organizations and individuals who cultivate the arts in America.
League of American Orchestras
The League of American Orchestras leads, supports, and champions America’s orchestras and the vitality of the music they perform. Its diverse membership of more than 1,700 organizations and individuals across North America runs the gamut from world-renowned orchestras to community groups, from summer festivals to student and youth ensembles, from conservatories to libraries, from businesses serving orchestras to individuals who love symphonic music.

International Trumpet Guild
4,000 members in 56 countries who seek to improve the artistic level of performance, teaching, and literature associated with the trumpet.
International Horn Society
"We are an organization dedicated to performance, teaching, composition, research, and the preservation and promotion of the horn as a musical instrument (Facebook page)".
International Trombone Association
Formed in 1972, ITA is a registered non-profit organization and our mission is to promote the trombone and all trombone-related activities across the world.
International Tuba Euphonium Association
Dedicated to promoting and advancing the tuba and euphonium instruments. The organization comprises performers, educators, students, and amateurs of all backgrounds.

American Society of Composers, Arrangers, and Publishers (ASCAP)
ASCAP's mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances
Broadcast Music Inc. (BMI)
To create a high-performing organization by developing an inclusive culture. This will be achieved in an environment that fosters creativity, productivity and mutual respect of all individuals.
Songview (ASCAP and BMI)
Songview was developed by ASCAP and BMI, the nation’s two largest Performance Rights Organizations, to provide music users with the first comprehensive, reliable and consistent data on songwriters, composers, music publishers and copyright ownership shares for the vast majority of songs licensed in the United States.

American Guild of Organists
To foster a thriving community of musicians who share their knowledge and inspire passion for the organ.
American Pianists Association
To discover, promote and advance the careers of young, American, world-class, jazz and classical pianists.
Music Teachers National Association
For the support, growth, and development of music-teaching professionals nationwide.

Chorus America
Chorus America empowers singing ensembles to create vibrant communities and effect meaningful change by offering services that promote artistic achievement, organizational strength, and advocacy.
North American Brass Band Association (NABBA)
An organization dedicated to the promotion and development of the British-style brass band movement in North America.
World Association for Symphonic Bands and Ensembles (WASBE)
WASBE is a non-profit international association open to all individuals, institutions and industries interested in symphonic wind bands and wind ensembles as serious and distinctive mediums of musical expression and cultural heritage.

American Choral Directors Association
To inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition, and advocacy.
American School Band Directors Association
ASBDA promotes excellence in K-12 school band programs, recognizes excellence in teaching, and provides educational research for the 21st century music classroom.
more...less...
http://www.asbdaband.org/what-is-the-asbda
American String Teachers Association
ASTA provides professional development, career building & support, and a community of peers for all teachers of stringed instruments.
Intercollegiate Men's Choruses
Since its founding in 1915, Intercollegiate Men's Choruses, Inc., A National Association of Male Choruses, formerly the Intercollegiate Musical Council, has strived to promote quality men's chorus singing and music.
Intercollegiate Musical Association (IMA)
The Intercollegiate Music Association (IMA) was founded in 1960 as a vehicle for enriching and enhancing the development of the students of its member institutions. For over forty-five years, IMA has enhanced the overall ethos of music performance and education for some of the most significant historically black colleges and universities located on the east coast.
International Association for Jazz Education
IAJE promotes Jazz education in K-12 schools and higher education.
more...less...
This website is a must for anyone who wants to learn more about Jazz and how to perform it.
National Association for Music Education
This organization was formerly known as MENC (Music Educators National Conference), and is the largest Music Education advocacy group in the United States.
Sphinx Organization
Transforming Lives Through the Power of Diversity in the Arts
Suzuki Association of the Americas
This is a coalition of teachers, parents, educators, and others who are interested in making music education available to all children.

Kappa Kappa Psi/Tau Beta Sigma
Kappa Kappa Psi and Tau Beta Sigma are national honorary band fraternities for men and women, respectively. Lincoln University's chapters, Mu Sigma (KKY), and Iota Pi (TBS) were installed in 2010.
more...less...
Tau Beta Sigma maintains a separate website: https://www.tbsigma.org/
Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia
The Object of this Fraternity shall be for the development of the best and truest fraternal spirit; the mutual welfare and brotherhood of musical students; the advancement of music in America and a loyalty to the Alma Mater.
more...less...
This is a professional music fraternity for men.
Sigma Alpha Iota
SAI is a professional music fraternity for women, with collegiate and alumni chapters across the United States.

Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)
The RIAA represents some of the most iconic record labels—Atlantic, Capitol, RCA, Warner Records, Columbia, Motown and countless others—behind today’s most popular artists. We work to protect artists’ creative freedom and promote the unique work that labels do to support them.

Actor's Equity Association
Actors' Equity Association, founded in 1913, represents more than 51,000 professional Actors and Stage Managers nationwide.
International Conference of Symphony and Opera Musicians (ICSOM)
ICSOM represents over 4,000 musicians from 52 major symphony orchestras throughout the United States, and is a Player Conference of the American Federation of Musicians.
Screen Actor's Guild/American Federation of Television and Radio Actors
SAG-AFTRA brings together two great American labor unions: Screen Actors Guild and the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists. Both were formed in the turmoil of the 1930s, with rich histories of fighting for and securing the strongest protections for media artists.

Violin Society of America
Founded in 1973, the Violin Society of America is a non-profit organization created for the purpose of promoting the art and science of making, repairing and preserving stringed musical instruments and their bows.
American Viola Society
The American Viola Society is a nonprofit organization of viola enthusiasts, including students, performers, teachers, scholars, composers, makers, and friends, who seek to encourage excellence in performance, pedagogy, research, composition, and lutherie.
Violoncello Foundation
Increase public awareness in cello; Broaden public interest and enjoyment of solo, chamber and orchestral music featuring the cello; Foster and maintain an interest in the art of cello playing; cultivate such awareness, interest and enjoyment by organizing and presenting programs and events that promote the study and the performance of cello and the creation of literature featuring or involving the cello.
International Society of Bassists
The International Society of Bassists is a membership organization dedicated to raising worldwide awareness of the double bass by inspiring, educating, and connecting people, music, and ideas through fellowship, performance, digital media, and the printed word.
American Harp Society
The mission of the American Harp Society, Inc. is to celebrate our legacy, inspire excellence, and empower the next generation of harpists.

National Association of Teachers of Singing
To advance excellence in singing through teaching, performance, scholarship, and research.

National Flute Association
The National Flute Association will be known as a premier resource worldwide, valued by its members and relevant to all interested in music and the flute.
International Clarinet Association
The International Clarinet Association is a community of clarinetists and clarinet enthusiasts that supports projects that will benefit clarinet performance; provides opportunities for the exchange of ideas, materials, and information among its members; fosters the composition, publication, recording, and distribution of music for the clarinet; encourages the research and manufacture of a more definitive clarinet; encourages communication and cooperation among clarinetists and the music industry; and encourages and promotes the performance and teaching of a wide variety of repertoire for the clarinet.
International Double Reed Society
The International Double Reed Society (oboe and bassoon family), is a member-based organization made up of professional double reed players, amateurs, hobbyists, university/college instructors, music teachers, institutions, instrument manufacturers, double reed product retailers, reed makers, and enthusiasts.
North American Saxophone Alliance
The North American Saxophone Alliance is an organization made up of individuals who share a common interest in the saxophone. Members include professional performers, university professors, public school teachers, students of all levels, and others who have an interest in the saxophone.

Open Access Sheet Music

LiederNet Archive
The LiederNet Archive is the world’s largest reference archive of texts and translations of art songs and choral works.
Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP)
Free sheet music downloads with a classical orientation. Financial contribution encouraged but not required. Not everything on IMSLP is in public domain in the United States; the patron is warned against unauthorized use.
Sheet Music Consortium, UCLA
The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
more...less...
https://guides.library.ucla.edu/sheetmusicconsortium (link to the Libguide for the UCLA Sheet Music Consortium)
University of Colorado
The University of Colorado at Boulder Music Library has a large sheet music collection with approximately 150,000 items including examples from the late 18th through the 20th centuries.
more...less...
The sheet music digitized and presented here was originally published between 1890 and 1922. The sheet music in this collection is presented as part of the historical record. The topics, illustrations, and language reflect the attitudes and beliefs of earlier times. The University of Colorado does not endorse the views expressed in these collections that may contain materials that are offensive to some readers.

Recording Software

Audacity
Audacity is a free and open-source digital audio editor and recording application software, available for Windows, macOS, Linux, and other Unix-like operating systems.
GarageBand for Mac
GarageBand is a fully equipped music creation studio right inside your Mac — with a complete sound library that includes instruments, presets for guitar and voice, and an incredible selection of session drummers and percussionists.

Music Theory and Analysis

A Manual of Sixteenth-Century Contrapuntal Style by Charlotte Smith
Call Number: MT55 .S63 1989
ISBN: 0874133270
Publication Date: 1989-05-01
A Guide to Musical Analysis by Nicholas Cook
Call Number: MT6.C775 G8 1987
ISBN: 0807611727
Publication Date: 1987-03-01
Music of the Twentieth Century by Bryan R. Simms
Call Number: MT6.S534 M9 1986
ISBN: 0028725808
Publication Date: 1986-04-01

Instrumental Pedagogy & Standard Solo Literature

Brass Area includes but is not limited to the following instruments: Trumpet, Cornet, Horn, Trombone, Euphonium, and Tuba.

Standard Solo Literature for each instrument is linked below. These lists are drawn from websites of established artist-teachers, but are not meant to be comprehensive. The student is encouraged to carry on an ongoing conversation with their studio teacher regarding the choice of literature.

Trumpet/Cornet Horn Trombone Bass Trombone International Tuba Euphonium Association

Brass Pedagogy and History Texts in the LHML Collection

Trumpet Technique by Delbert A. Dale; Charles Gorham (Preface by); Philip Jones (Preface by)
Call Number: MT440 .D34 1985
ISBN: 0193221284
Publication Date: 1983-10-20
The French Horn: Some Notes on the Evolution of the Instrument and its Technique by R. Morley-Pegge
Call Number: ML955 .M67 1973
ISBN: 0393021718
Publication Date: 1973-09-01
Trombone Technique by Denis Wick
Call Number: MT460 .W5
ISBN: 0193187043
Publication Date: 1971-07-01
The Tuba Family by Clifford Bevan
Call Number: ML970 .B48
ISBN: 057110522X
Publication Date: 1978

Keyboard Area includes but is not limited to Piano, Organ,and Harpsichord.

Keyboard Pedagogy and Historical Texts in the LHML Collection:

Most music scores in our collection will be found on the oversize shelves in the last row of the stacks on the fourth floor.

The Art of the Piano: Its Performers, Literature, and Recordings by David Dubal
Call Number: ML105 .D8 1989
ISBN: 0671492381
Publication Date: 1989-09-01
Masters of The Keyboard : A Brief Survey of Pianoforte Music. by Willi Appel
Call Number: ML700 .A6
Publication Date: 1970 (c1947)
Planning Your Piano Success: A Blueprint for Aspiring Musicians by Stewart Gordon
Call Number: ML3795 .G755 2014
ISBN: 9780199942442
Publication Date: 2014-02-03
Organ Accompaniment and Registration by Charles Newell Boyd
Call Number: MT185 .B8
Publication Date: 1932

Strings Area includes but is not limited to Violin, Viola, Cello, Bass, and Harp.

Standard Solo Repertoire for each instrument is linked below. These lists are drawn from websites of established artist-teachers, but are not meant to be comprehensive. The student is encouraged to carry on an ongoing conversation with their studio teacher regarding the choice of literature.

Violin Viola Cello Bass

String Pedagogy and Historical Texts in the LHML Collection:

Principles of Violin Playing and Teaching by Ivan Galamian; Elizabeth A. Green
Call Number: MT260 .G34 1985
ISBN: 0137107730
Publication Date: 1984-10-01
Violin: Its Physical and Acoustic Principles by Paolo Peterlongo
Call Number: ML755 .P4813
ISBN: 0800880196
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
The Art of String Quartet Playing: Practice, Technique, and Interpretation by M.D. Herter Norton
Call Number: MT728 .H37 1962
Publication Date: 1962
The String Quartet by Paul Griffiths
Call Number: ML1160 .G74 1983
ISBN: 050001311X
Publication Date: 1983-01-01

Percussion Area instruments include but are not limited to: Membranophones (drums with a head made of animal hide, plastic, or a composite material) and Idiophones, instruments of all kinds that are struck, shaken, or scraped, which also include keyboard percussion instruments such as xylophone, bells, chimes, marimba, and vibes.

Standard solo and chamber music literature for Percussion: These lists are drawn from websites of established artist-teachers, but are not intended to be comprehensive. The student is encouraged to carry on an ongoing conversation with their studio teacher regarding the choice of literature.

Brad Meyer, Stephen F. Austin University (TX)

University of Central Florida

University of Tennessee-Martin