Notable 1929 alum and renowned poet, James Mercer Langston Hughes, bequeathed the contents of his personal library - a collection of books, manuscripts and artifacts - to the university upon his death in 1967.
Therman B. O'Daniel was a 1930 graduate of Lincoln University. The collection was a donation on behalf of his estate. Holdings consist of materials about Africa and African American culture, literature, ideology and scholarly works.
The Lincolniana Collection consists of books published by the institution, or those that are by or about our alumni or faculty.
The Masters Theses Collection holds the bound copies of our Master's Program graduates' theses.
Cultural critic and playwright Larry Neal was a leading member of the Black Arts Movement in the 1960s. He was born in Atlanta in 1937 and grew up in Philadelphia, earning a BA in English and history from Lincoln University in Pennsylvania. He also studied folklore as a graduate student at the University of Pennsylvania. His collections of poetry, Black Boogaloo: Notes on a Black Literature (1969) and Hoodoo Hollerin Bebop Ghosts (1971), show the influence of vernacular speech and folklore.
https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/larry-neal
Sol Feinstone was a businessman, conservationist, philanthropist, and collector of Americana who assembled the manuscript collection now held by The David Center for the American Revolution at the American Philosophical Society. Our library's small collection consists of original documents related not only to Mr. Feinstone's family history, but also includes numerous slave trade documents that he collected. They are a rich resource for students of African American history.
