LibGuides: Computer Science: Home

Welcome

This research guide is designed to provide help locating materials in the fields taught in the Department of Computer Science, which studies "the theoretical foundations of information and computation and their implementation and application in computer systems" (iBerry.com). Courses are available to every level of student, from the Computer Science major to the relative beginner and can culminate in earning a Bachelor of Science or Bachelor of Arts degree. Opportunities for on-line tutorials and instruction are plentiful.

Chromatic Algorithms by Carolyn L. Kane
Call Number: ND1489 .K36 2014
ISBN: 9780226002736
Publication Date: 2014-08-13
Murach's Visual Basic 2012 by Anne Boehm
Call Number: QA76.73.B3 B596 2013
ISBN: 9781890774738
Publication Date: 2013-11-11
Game Programming in C++ by Sanjay Madhav
Call Number: QA76.73.C153 M225 2018
ISBN: 9780134597201
Publication Date: 2018-03-28
Learn to Program with Python 3 by Irv Kalb
Call Number: QA76.73.P98 K353 2018
ISBN: 9781484238783
Publication Date: 2018-08-23

Library of Congress Classification for Computer Science

Class Q (Science) Subclass QA (Mathematics)--QA 71 through QA 90 is dedicated to instruments and machines (including software).

Class T (Technology) Subclass TK (Electrical Engineering)--TK 7800 through TK 8360 is dedicated to electronics, with TK 7885 through TK 7895 dedicated to computer engineering and computer hardware.

Research Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Basic Computer Skills This link opens in a new window
Do you need to learn the basics of Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, or Outlook? These video tutorials are a quick and easy way to build the proficiencies you need.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) provides access to more than 12,000 journals from more than 100 countries covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of more than 2,000 journals and more than 25,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Included are peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, and academic monographs. JSTOR includes material in more than 75 disciplines including area studies, the arts, business and economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine and allied health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences.
JSTOR: Open Content This link opens in a new window
Explore academic content on JSTOR that is open to everyone, everywhere. Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.
Khan Academy This link opens in a new window
Free educational resources for math, science and engineering, computing, arts and humanities, economics and finance, test prep, college, careers, and more.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Ask Me

Tiffany Davis

Computer Science: Special Topics

Rebuilding Trust Between Silicon Valley and Washington by Adam Segal
Call Number: HD9696.2.U6 S44 2017
ISBN: 9780876097038
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
The People's Platform by Astra Taylor
Call Number: HM851 .T39 2014
ISBN: 9780805093568
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Dark Territory by Fred Kaplan
Call Number: HV6773.15.C97 K37 2016
ISBN: 9781476763255
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Broad Band by Claire L. Evans (Maps by)
Call Number: QA76.2.A2 E93 2018
ISBN: 9780735211759
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
The Innovators by Walter Isaacson
Call Number: QA76.2.A2 I87 2014
ISBN: 9781476708690
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
The Brain Electric by Malcolm Gay
Call Number: QP360.7 .G39 2015
ISBN: 9780374139841
Publication Date: 2015-10-20