LibGuides: Upward Bound: Academic Research

What is a Database?

Databases contain articles, e-books, abstracts, videos, citations, images, and more. A database can contain almost any kind of media. So why is it different than searching the internet? A database has been put together by people curating the information: organizing it, putting it in various subjects, and generally making it easier for researchers to find the information they need.

LHML Resources

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Ask Me

Tiffany Davis