Skip to main content
site header image

About the Library: Archives & Special Collections

Learn more about the Langston Hughes Memorial Library.

Archives and Special Collections

The library archives and special collections are located on the first floor of the library.

 

Hours of Operation

The archives are staffed Monday - Thursday 9am - 1pm and by appointment. 

Langston Hughes

The collection was bequeathed to the Langston Hughes Memorial Library by the library's namesake who graduated from Lincoln in 1929. It consists of over 5,000 volumes of various subject matter including many titles from and about the Harlem Renaissance.

 

Larry Neal (NEAL)

The collection consists of approximately 3,000 volumes that are primarily related to the Black Arts Movement and the African American Experience. It was donated to LHML by Evelyn Neal, the widow of Larry Neal who graduated from Lincoln in 1961 and taught creative writing courses at Lincoln for the 1979-1980 school year.

 

Therman B. O'Daniel (TBO)

The personal library of 1930 alum and longtime College Language Association  (CLA) Journal editor was donated to LHML in 1987 by his widow Lillian O'Daniel. The collection is predominantly American literature, African American authors, and classical American 19th century literature and consists of roughly 5000 volumes.

Langston Hughes Memorial Library houses materials essential to the Black Experience and to the history of Lincoln University as well as rare books and gift collections. Some of our notable collections include:

  • Africana (AFR): A collection of pre-2005 books about Africa or by African authors.

  • Lincolniana (LINC): A collection of books and manuscripts by Lincoln alum, students, and faculty from the 19th century to present.

  • Rare Books: A collection of predominantly pre-1900 limited edition books, manuscripts and other published works.

  • Special Negro Collection (SNC): The Special Negro Collection was conceived in 1972 and has grown from its original 3800 volumes to more than 25,000. It consists of pre-2005 books and periodicals by or about African Americans and is used around the world for both teaching and research purposes.

 

Ask Me

Jess Garner's picture
Jess Garner
Contact:
Langston Hughes Memorial Library
484-365-7370